## VILLAGE OF LYNDONVILLE MINUTES OF THE 2017 ANNUAL MEETING

The 2017 Annual Meeting of the Village of Lyndonville was held at the Municipal Office Building Conference Room Tuesday, March 21, 2017. Village Trustee Chair, Ron Aiken, gaveled the meeting to order at 7:00 PM and led the assembly in the Pledge of Allegiance. After a moment of silence for Dr. Alfred Toborg, past Moderator who passed away on Monday, the reading of the Warning was dispensed with by Ron.

Article 1: To elect a Moderator and a Clerk.

Motion made by Susan Mills, seconded by Steve Gray, to nominate Chris Hunter for the position of Moderator. There being no other nominations, Chris Hunter was elected as Moderator by voice vote.

At this time, Moderator Chris Hunter assumed the podium and continued with the reading of the Warning.

Motion made by Steve Gray, seconded by Ann Louise Smith, to nominate Dawn Dwyer for the position of Clerk. There being no other nominations, Dawn Dwyer was elected as Clerk by voice vote.

<u>Article 2:</u> Shall the voters of the Village of Lyndonville vote to adopt the proposed General Fund budget for the ensuing year?

Motion made by Ron Smith, seconded by Steve Gray, to adopt the proposed General Fund budget in the amount of \$861,620 for the ensuring year. There being no discussion, Article 2 was adopted by voice vote.

Article 3: Shall the voters of the Village of Lyndonville vote that taxpayers pay Village real property taxes to the Treasurer on or before 4:30 PM on Friday, November 3, 2017, with delinquent taxes having interest charges of one percent per month for the first three (3) months, where after interest rates will be one and one-half percent per month, and an eight (8) percent late penalty charged against them from the due date of November 3, 2017, at 4:30 PM?

Motion made by Steve Gray, seconded by Doug Conly, to adopt Article 3. There being no discussion, Article 4 was adopted by voice vote.

Article 4: Shall the voters of the Village of Lyndonville vote to authorize the Trustees to borrow money for the Electric Department not to exceed three hundred thousand dollars (\$300,000) in anticipation of revenues and to execute and deliver the note or notes therefore?

Motion made by Steve Gray, seconded by Ellen Hinman, to adopt Article 4. There being no discussion, Article 4 was adopted by voice vote.

Article 5: Shall the voters of the Village of Lyndonville vote to authorize the Trustees to borrow money for the Water Department's normal expenses, not to exceed three hundred thousand dollars (\$300,000) in anticipation of revenues and to execute and deliver the note or notes therefore?

Motion made by Ron Smith, seconded by Steve Gray, to adopt Article 5. There being no discussion, Article 5 was adopted by voice vote.

<u>Article 6:</u> To elect the following officers as required: Clerk, Treasurer; Trustee for five (5) years, Delinquent Tax Collector; and Village Agent.

Treasurer: Motion made by Susan Mills, seconded by Ann Louise Smith, to nominate Dawn Dwyer for the position of Treasurer. There being no other nominations, Dawn Dwyer was elected as Treasurer by voice vote.

Trustee (5 Year term): Motion made by Steve Gray, seconded by Ellen Hinman, to nominate Susan Mills for the position of Trustee to a Five (5) year term. There being no other nominations, Susan Mills was elected as Trustee to a Five (5) year term by voice vote.

Delinquent Tax Collector: Motion made by Sue Mills, seconded by Ann Louise Smith, to nominate Linda Lee for the position of Delinquent Tax Collector. There being no other nominations, Linda Lee was elected as Delinquent Tax Collector by voice vote.

Village Agent: Motion made by Susan Mills, seconded by Steve Gray, to nominate Peter Morrissette for the position of Village Agent. There being no other nominations, Peter Morrissette was elected as Village Agent by voice vote.

<u>Article 7:</u> Do the voters of the Village of Lyndonville desire to transact any other proper business?

The following individuals spoke and answered questions on behalf of organizations seeking one of the six available coin drop slots; Ellen Hinman for Caledonia County Special Olympics, Cindy Karasinski for Cobleigh Public Library, Robert Lawrence for Darling Inn Senior Meal Site, Mike Flynn for H.O.P.E. (Helping Other People Everyday), Karen Carey for Lyndon Area Chamber of Commerce, Cindy Cady for Lyndon Dog Pound, and Adrienne D'Olimpio for Village Improvement Society (VIS).

Mike Flynn reminded the assembly of the second Vermont Community Rural Development Community Visit coming up on Monday, March 27<sup>th</sup> at Lyndon Town School starting at 6:30 PM. They will be reviewing the action items discussed at the first meeting and voting for the top four priorities.

There being no further business, motion made by Steve Gray, seconded by David Martin, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried and the meeting was adjourned at 7:26 PM.

## RESULTS OF THE COIN DROP BALLOT

KESULTS OF THE	COIN DROI BALLOI
Organizations granted a coin drop:	
Cobleigh Public Library	13
Powers Park (Village Improvement Society)	13
Caledonia County Special Olympics	11
H.O.P.E. (Helping Other People Everyday)	11
Lyndon Dog Pound	11
Darling Inn Senior Meal Site	10
Organizations not granted a coin drop:	
Lyndonville Area Chamber of Commerce	5
Lyndonville Youth Baseball & Softball	3 (no representation at Annual Meeting)
ATTEST: A True Copy:	
ATTEST: A True Copy:	Ron Aiken, Trustee Chair
	Chris Hunter, Moderator
	Dawn R. Dwyer, Village Clerk